running with olympic gold medalists….counts

Have you seen the recent ads for the newly launched Nike+ FuelBand?

The FuelBand measures your activity in Fuel points, that you can set daily to complete and compete with friends! It also measures calories burned and steps taken. It’s a great tool if you’re competitive and like the idea of a digital log to keep track of all your activity. It syncs with your phone (iPhone or Android) and with your home computer. Think you’re activity counts? You gotta earn those Fuel points!

Fueling up! Make It Count.

On October 31, 2012 I was lucky enough to be a part of a small group of local runners in Toronto to participate in a launch of the Nike+ FuelBand. What was our mission? Oh, just run the streets of Toronto with Canadian Olympic Gold Medalist Simon Whitfield!

Simon and his band of runners! [photo courtesy of Nike Running Canada]
What. An. Experience.

We flash mobbed busy intersections, ran through the Toronto Eaton Centre and did an impromptu workout session in front of the Nike Running Store! All earning Fuel points along the way! Running, counts. Squats, count. Walking, counts. Jumping Jacks, count. Push ups, count.

All in all we ran, we lunged, jumped, stopped traffic, laughed, posed for pics and got to chat with an amazingly humble and gifted Olympian.

Thank you Nike Running Canada! Awesomeness, counts.

Post-run pic with Simon Whitfield! *swoon*

Oh and my first day of FuelBand use? Goal met and smashed!! 🙂

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. thenerdyrunner says:

    I use this on my Nike+ app, and always find myself checking out how I compare to others in my age group/gender. I’m hyper-competitive by nature, so it’s pretty fun to use this as motivation!

    I haven’t used the FuelBand yet. Did you like it?

    1. Yes, I love it! I find it very motivating!!

  2. Miranda says:

    I am addicted to the FuelBand!!!

  3. That is so AWESOME! Looked like an great time!

  4. Wow! What an amazing opportunity. Love your blog too, very fun to read and full of great information.

  5. Josie says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would certainly benefit
    from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if
    this ok with you. Thanks!

    1. Sorry for the late response! Yes that’s fine!

Leave a Reply

